District Court

Pay Fines Online Here or
Pay By Phone
800-657-3611(out state) or
651-281-3219 (metro).

The district court system ran in conjunction with the established probate, county and municipal court systems. In 1982, the Court Unification Act was passed merging probate, county and municipal courts into a unified district court. Unification was officially recommended by the legislature; however, initiatives were on a voluntary basis and implemented only after receiving a majority of votes by the county, municipal or district court judges. The Ninth Judicial District, which includes Aitkin, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau counties, filed their unification plan on July 1, 1984, and their official unification date was July 1, 1985.

The Chief Judge of the Ninth District is The Honorable Tamara Yon and the Assistant Chief Judge is The Honorable Jana Austad. The resident judge of the Hubbard County District Court is The Honorable Robert D. Tiffany. All personnel in the court office are employees of the state.  Please refer to Hubbard County District Court or Minnesota Judicial Branch for more information.